PVF News

Independence is the Goal


   Joelle Basset, 21


Greater independence to those with vision loss is the goal of the team at the Frank Stein and Paul S. May Center for Low Vision Rehabilitation within The Eye Institute. Living in the “gray zone” between normal sight and blindness, there are many individuals whose sight cannot be fully restored. The most important thing that Low Vision Center patients learn is to not be limited by their disability.


“We are blessed to be with a specialist who encourages her to not give in to her disability. He teaches us both that Joelle is the best judge of what she can do.”

-Launi Gates, Joelle Basset’s mother


“I don’t let anything stop me. With this disease, you don’t have to stop doing what you do. You still have some eyesight, so you may as well keep doing things.”

– Gary Saballos





    Barkan Day 2017

    During Barkan Day, the residents shared their illuminating research with attendings, alumni, and colleagues. Discussions ranged from the outcomes of Cyclophotocoagulation

    [read more]
  • American Uveitis Society New Member

    david-heidenDavid C. Heiden, MD was recently elected in

    [read more]
  • American Ophthalmological Society New Member

    rona-silkissRona Z. Silkiss, MD was recently elected as

    [read more]
  • ASCRS  Hall of  Fame

    alan-scottCongratulations to Alan B. Scott, MD for being elected to the American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery

    [read more]
  • 2016 AOS  Howe  Medal

    susan-daySusan H. Day, MD is the 2016 recipient of the Howe Medal, conferred by the American Ophthalmological Society.

    [read more]
  • 2016 Distinguished  Alumni  Award,  University  of Alberta

    donald-fletcherDonald C. Fletcher, MD will receive a 2016 Distinguished Alumni of the Year Award from

    [read more]
  • New Chief Medical Editor of EyeNet

    AlumniRuth D. Williams, M.D. is the new Chief Medical Editor

    [read more]