Alumni News and Events

  • david-heiden

    American Uveitis Society New Member

    David C. Heiden, MD was recently elected in to the American Uveitis Society, a resource for researchers in inflammatory eye diseases. Uveitis refers to a group of inflammatory diseases of the

    [read more]
  • rona-silkiss

    American Ophthalmological Society New Member

    Rona Z. Silkiss, MD was recently elected as a member of the American Ophthalmological Society (AOS), a medical society whose constitutional objective is “the advancement of ophthalmic science and art. Founded in

    [read more]
  • ASCRS  Hall of  Fame

    Congratulations to Alan B. Scott, MD for being elected to the American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery (ASCRS) Ophthalmology Hall of Fame. The physicians selected for this honor are chosen by their peers—more than 30,000 ophthalmologists

    [read more]
  • susan-day

    2016 AOS  Howe  Medal

    Susan H. Day, MD is the 2016 recipient of the Howe Medal, conferred by the American Ophthalmological Society. The Howe Medal is one of the highest honors in the field of ophthalmology. The American Ophthalmological Society was founded in 1864 to promote excellence in the

    [read more]
  • donald-fletcher

    2016 Distinguished  Alumni  Award,  University  of Alberta

    Donald C. Fletcher, MD will receive a 2016 Distinguished Alumni of the Year Award from his alma mater, the University of Alberta, Edmonton, Canada. Members of his family will join him as he receives the award on September 22. This award recognizes

    [read more]
  • Alumni

    New Chief Medical Editor of EyeNet

    Ruth D. Williams, M.D. is the new Chief Medical Editor of EyeNet, a monthly publication of the American Academy of Ophthalmologists. Her first column, titled, The Making of an “Opinionator,” was published in the March 2016 issue.

    [read more]